Governor general Of India List PDF : Do you want to download Governor general Of India List in PDF format? If your answer is yes, then you are at the right place. Use the link below to download Pdf.

Governor general Of India List PDF Details
Governor general Of India List PDF Free Download
PDF Name
Governor general Of India List
No. of Pages 02
PDF Size 41.7KB
Language  English
Category Government

Governor general Of India List

Initially, the governor-authority general’s was limited to the Bengal Presidency of Fort William. The Regulating Act, on the other hand, gave them new powers in foreign affairs and defence. The East India Company’s three presidencies (Madras, Bombay, and Bencoolen) were not permitted to wage war on or make peace with an Indian ruler without first obtaining the governor-and general’s Council of Fort William’s assent.

Year/ DurationName Events during tenure
1772-1785Warren HastingsHe was the first Governor-General of Bengal and brought an end to the dual system of administration. His achievements include Regulating Act of 1773, establishment of Supreme Court at Calcutta and the Asiatic Society of Bengal. He fought the first Anglo-Maratha War and signed the Treaty of Salbai. The first English translation of Bhagavad Gita was done in his tenure and lastly Pitt’s India Act-1784 was brought in his regime.
1786-1793Lord CornwallisHe established appellate courts, lower grade courts and Sanskrit college.
During his tenure the wars that were fought were the Third Anglo-Mysore War and Treaty of Seringapatam was signed.
Introduction of Permanent Settlement and civil services were also conducted during his tenure. 
1793-1798Sir John ShoreCharter act of 1793 was passed as he came in. Policy of Non-intervention and Battle of Kharda are his achievements. 
1798-1805Lord WellesleyHe is extremely well known for introducing Subsidiary Alliance System and fighting wars like Fourth Anglo- Mysore war and the Treaty of Bassein, Second Anglo – Maratha war. 
He established the Madras presidency and also Fort William College in Calcutta
1805-1807Sir George BarlowHe was the Acting Governor-General of India until  Lord Minto arrived. He is the reason for diminishing area of British territory due to his passion for economy and retrenchment.  The Mutiny of Vellore took place in 1806 under his tenure.
1807-1813Lord Minto ITreaty of Amritsar was concluded with Maharaja Ranjit Singh in 1809 when Lord Minto came and he introduced the Charter Act of 1813 in India. 
1813-1823Lord HastingsDuring his tenure the following events took place:The end of policy of Non-interventionAnglo-Nepal War (1814-16) and the Treaty of Sagauli, 1816Third Anglo-Maratha warAbolition of PeshwashipEstablishment of the Ryotwari System in Madras and BombayMahalwari system in north-western Provinces and Bombay
1823-1828Lord AmherstDuring his time the annexation of Assam happened leading to the first Burmese war of 1824, and a mutiny broke out in Barrackpore.

Governor General of India:

YearName of the Governor GeneralMajor Events during tenure
1828-1835Lord William BentinckFirst Governor-General of India as per the rules in the Charter Act of 1833.
He abolished Sati system, suppressed the Thugee system along with infanticide and child sacrifices.
It was in his regime the English Education Act of 1835 was proposed and Medical College and Hospital, Kolkata was established.
1835-1836Lord Charles MetcalfeHe is famously called the Liberator of the Indian Press because he openly withdrew the restraints on an open press in India
1836-1842Lord AucklandImprovement of domestic schools took place in his regime.  He is also responsible for the expansion of the commercial industry of India. The first Anglo-Afghan war was fought in his tenure.
1842-1844Lord EllenboroughSindh was annexed during his tenure.
1844-1848Lord Hardinge IFirst Anglo Sikh War took place in his time. 
1848-1856Lord Dalhousie He is responsible for the following:Second Anglo-Sikh War (1848-49)The annexation of Lower Burma (1852)Introduction of the Doctrine of LapseWood’s Dispatch 1854First railway line connecting Bombay and Thane in 1853Establishment of PWDIndian Post Office Act
1856-1857Lord CanningThe Calcutta, Madras and Bombay Universities were established and the Revolt of 1857 took place during his tenure

Viceroys of India: 

YearName of ViceroyEvents during the tenure
1856-1862Lord CanningThe events that took place under his regime wereRevolt of 1857Establishment of three universities at Calcutta, Madras and Bombay in 1857Abolition of East India Company and transfer of power to the British Queen Government of India Act, 1858
Indian Councils Act of 1861
1864-1869Lord John LawrenceBhutan War took place in 1865 and the establishment of the High Courts at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras were done under his regime
1876-1880Lord LyttonThe Vernacular Press Act of 1878 was passed followed by the Arms Act (1878), Second Afghan War in 1878 to 1880. Queen Victoria was crowned the Queen of India in his regime. 
1880-1884Lord RiponThe first Factory Act was passed in 1881 and Vernacular Press Act was repealed by him in 1882. 
Local self-government was formed during his regime and Ilbert Bill controversy arose followed by Hunter Commission on education (1882)
1884-1888Lord DufferinThe two major events in his tenure were Third Burmese War and the establishment of Indian National Congress 
1888-1894Lord LansdowneHe brought the Indian Councils Act in 1892 and set up the Durand Commission in 1893
1899-1905Lord CurzonHe is responsible for theIndian Universities Act Partition of BengalAppointment of Police Commission (1902)Appointment of Universities Commission (1902)
1905-1910Lord Minto IISwadeshi Movement took place from 1905-11 and establishment of Muslim League happened in his regime.
Morley-Minto Reforms were brought about in 1909. 
1910-1916Lord Hardinge IIHis tenure witnessed:Annulment of Partition of Bengal Transfer of capital from Calcutta to Delhi Establishment of the Hindu Mahasabha 
1916-1921Lord ChelmsfordLucknow pact , Champaran Satyagraha , Montague’s August Declaration, Government of India Act,  Rowlatt Act , Jallianwalan Bagh massacre , Launch of Non-Cooperation and Khilafat Movements
1921-1926Lord ReadingChauri Chaura incident took place in 1922 followed by withdrawal of Non-Cooperation Movement.
Also establishment of Swaraj Party happened and Kakori train robbery took place in 1925.
1926-1931Lord IrwinSimon Commission came to India in 1927 when he was the Viceroy. The other events were, Harcourt Butler Indian States Commission (1927), Nehru Report (1928), Lahore session of the Congress in 1929, Dandi March and the Civil Disobedience Movement (1930), First Round Table Conference (1930), Gandhi-Irwin Pact (1931)
1931-1936Lord WillingdonThe following happened :Communal Award (1932)Second & Third Round Table Conference (1932)Poona Pact (1932)Government of India Act of 1935
1936-1944Lord LinlithgowHis tenure witnessed the Congress ministries resignation following the Second World War in 1939, followed by Tripuri Crisis & formation of Forward Bloc.
Then came the August Offer in 1940 and the formation of the Indian National Army,  Cripps Mission and  Quit India Movement 
1944-1947Lord WavellWavell Plan and the Simla Conference (1942)Cabinet Mission (1946)Direct Action Day (1946)Announcement of end of British rule in India by Clement Attlee (1947)
1947-1948Lord MountbattenRadcliff commission of 1947 followed by India’s Independence on 15th August 1947

Similar Free PDF’S

Download Governor general Of India List PDF For Free 

You can download the Governor general Of India List in PDF format using the link given Below. If the PDF download link is not working, let us know in the comment box so that we can fix the link.