Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List PDF : Do you want to download Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List in PDF format? If your answer is yes, then you are at the right place. Use the link below to download Pdf.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List PDF Details
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List PDF Free Download
PDF Name
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List
No. of Pages 01
PDF Size 37KB
Language  English
Category Games
Source testbook.com

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

This is India’s highest honour in the field of sports and games. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports gives it out once a year. The recipient(s) is/are chosen by a Ministry-appointed committee for their “spectacular and most exceptional performance in the sphere of sports during a four-year period” at the international level. For each nominated sportsman, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award now costs Rs. 25 lakh.

The presentation of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards began in 1991. Vishvnathan Anand, a chess world champion, is the first Rajiv Gandhi ward winner. He received numerous sporting accolades in addition to the Rajiv Gandhi Award.

For their great achievements and contributions to their sport, all athletes from various sports are nominated for the Khel Ratna awards. For verification of claimed accomplishments and doping clearance, all nominations are sent to SAI and the National Anti-Doping Agency, respectively. The prize is not open to any athlete who has been sanctioned or is under investigation by the World Anti-Doping Agency for using banned medications or substances. A committee comprised of the Joint Secretary and Director/Deputy Secretary of the Department of Sports, the Secretary, and the Executive Director/Director (TEAMS) of SAI verifies and validates the nominees.

Valid nominations are given to the government’s selection committee. A Chairperson nominated by the Ministry, four Olympians or previous recipients of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Arjuna Award, three sports journalists/experts/commentators, one sportsperson/expert/administrator associated with parasports, one sports administrator, the Director-General of SAI, and the Joint Secretary of the Department of Sports make up this twelve-member committee.

In each discipline, only two athletes, one male and one female, are given the highest marks. The committee can only recommend the athlete who received the highest overall score in a particular sport discipline, not the athlete who received the highest overall score across all disciplines. The recommendations of the selection committee will be sent to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for final approval.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List Till Today

Year Name Of The Awardee Discipline
2020 1. Rohit Sharma Cricket
2. Mariyappan Thangavelu Paralympic High Jump
3. Manika Batra Table Tennis
4. Vinesh Phogat Wrestling
5. Rani Ramphal Hockey
2019 1. Deepa Mallik Paralympic (Shot Put, Javelin)
2. Bajrang Punia Wrestling
2018 1. Ms. S. Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
2.  Virat Kohli Cricket
2017 1. Sardar Singh Hockey
  2. Devendra Para – Athletic



1. Ms. P.V. Sindhu Badminton
2. Ms. Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
3. Jitu Rai Shooting
4. Ms. Sakshi Malik Wrestling
2015 1. Ms. Sania Mirza Tennis
2013 1. Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2012 1. Vijay Kumar Shooting
2.  Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2011 1. Gagan Narang Shooting
2010 1. Ms. Saina Nehwal Badminton
2009 1. Ms. Mangte Chugneijang Marykom Boxing
2.  Vijender Boxing
3.  Sushil Kumar Wrestling
2007 1.  Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2006 1.  Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2005 1.  Pankaj Advani Billiards & Snooker
2004 1. Lt. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2003 1. Mrs. Anju Bobby George Athletics
2002 1. Ms. K.M. Beenamol Athletics
2. Smt. Anjali R.Bhagwat Shooting
2001 1. Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2000-2001 1. Pullela Gopichand Badminton
1999-2000 1. Dhanraj Pillay Hockey
1998-1999 1. Smt. Jyotirmoyee Sikdar Athletics
1997-1998 1.  Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar Cricket
1996-1997 1.  Leander Paes Tennis
1995-1996 1. Ms. N. Kunjurani Weightlifting

1. Ms. K. Malleshwari

1992-1994 1. Cdr. Homi D. Motivala Yachting
2. Lt. Cdr. P.K. Garg Yachting
1991-1992 1.  Vishwanath Anand Chess
2.  Geet Sethi Billiards

Similar Free PDF’S

Download Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List PDF For Free 

You can download the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners List in PDF format using the link given Below. If the PDF download link is not working, let us know in the comment box so that we can fix the link.